Best Teams in UEFA Champions League History

Since the UEFA Champions League was founded, a total of 22 teams have held this title. Some have held it once like Chelsea, and Aston Villa while others have held this title more than once. Discussed below are teams that have won the most UEFA Champions Leagues titles.

Real Madrid

Real Madrid is the first team that won the UEFA Champions League in the 1955-1956 season. They have a record of holding most Champions League titles, with a total of 13 titles. After winning the first title in 1956, Madrid remained the champions for the next five years, up to 1960. They then won it again in 1966, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018.

AC Milan

Milan was founded in 1899 and holds 7 UEFA Champions League titles. AC Milan won their first-ever Champions League title in 1963. They then won other six titles as follows, in 1969, 1989,1990, 1994, 2003 and the most recent one in 2007.

Liverpool FC

Liverpool FC was founded in 1892, and since then they have held a total of 6 UEFA Champions League. Their first-ever title was in 1977, then in 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005 and their recent title in 2019. Liverpool holds the UEFA Champion League, and they will be defending it this year.


Barcelona is a Spanish club founded in 1899. Barcelona has won a total of 5 Champions League titles. They won the titles, in 1992, 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2015.

Bayern Munich

Bayern Munich club is based in Germany and was founded in 1900. Munich ties with Barcelona in the number of titles they hold in the UEFA Champions League. They hold a total of five titles with the first one in 1974.

Spanish teams are the most successful in the UEFA Champions League since they hold a total of 18 titles.